Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 30th, 2009


IMG_3561, originally uploaded by Shear Delight.

 

The first quilt I ever made came with the bias tape premade, after that I was on my own. Which really is okay with me because, while you can buy premade bias tape, the selection is limited to say the least. And between you and me making it really isn’t that hard. It took me about an hour and that’s stopping to take photos, watch some TV, have some coffee etc. So I have trouble staying on task, what can I say.

These instructions seem to be the best available on the web, the only problem is there are drawing not pictures. Well we all know how I feel about that so here are my photos.

You will need:

  • Fabric- The instructions include a mathematical equation to determine how much fabric you will need but I just used a yard of fabric. I buy fabric with the intention of making bias tape out of it so it makes more sense for me to do it all at once.
  • Rotary cutter and/or scissors
  • Pencil or other means to mark the fabric
  • Straight Pins
  • Sewing machine (1/4 in foot guide makes things a bit easier but isn’t necessary)

Step 1- Lay your fabric out on the table.

IMG_3476

The line drawing in the instructions is a little misleading here is “dotted” line shown on a real piece of fabric

IMG_3480

Step 2- Now here is the fabric folded over

IMG_3481

I didn’t use scissor to cut along the folded edges as instructed. Instead I pressed the edge, opened it and used a rotary cutter so that I would have a much cleaner edge.

IMG_3482

Cut apart it will look like this.

IMG_3485

Step 3- Reposition the piece you just cut off to the other side of fabric you cut it from placing them selvedge edge to selvedge edge like this.

IMG_3487

Keeping the selvedge edges together place them right sides together.

IMG_3488

Pin together before sewing together using a 1/4 in seam. Afterwards press open the seam.

IMG_3496

And it comes out looking like this.

IMG_3503

Step 4- Draw your seam lines on the wrong side of the fabric.

IMG_3504

I used a regular pencil and clear ruler but could have skipped this step and simply used the edge and the 1/4 in foot on my sewing machine.

Step 5- Drawing parallel lines using the angled edge as your guide,

IMG_3508

Here are the lines crossing your 1/4 in seam allowance lines.

IMG_3516

When you get to the other side of the fabric you will most likely end up with a strip of fabric that is not wide enough, simply cut this piece off.

IMG_3519

You will end up with lines evenly spaced all the way across your fabric.

Step 6- The confusing part… You are going to number the lines you just drew. You will start with zero on the bottom.

IMG_3522

That same line on the top will be labeled 1 and you will number the lines up from there like this.

IMG_3523

Flip the fabric over so that the right side is up and bring the numbered edges together.

IMG_3536

Step 7- Ignoring the line marked zero bring the two lines labeled 1 together.

IMG_3530

Pin the intersection together. Now this is tricky too. Bring the edges of the fabric together and then using the 1/4 in seam line fold the fabric over to line up the two lines.

IMG_3541

This is the only way to make sure the you will have a continuous line once the raw edges are sewn together.

IMG_3545

I can’t stress how important this is, trust me I made this mistake. You will end up with lines that are no where near to one another once the seam is sewn and you will have to do it all again.

Done correctly you will end up with this.

IMG_3548

Step 9- Sew the 1/4 in seam you just pinned.

Mine didn’t end up twisted at all but it does look a little weird as your try to sew along the edge you just created.

IMG_3549

Generally I like to take pins out as I sew but in this case I left them in place to ensure the fabric didn’t move around.

Step 10- Press open.

IMG_3550

Step 11- Here is your tail.

IMG_3551

Step 12- Cutting time.

IMG_3555

Just keep following your line around and around and around. If the fabric is puddled in your lap make sure you aren’t cutting any of the fabric accidentally as you work your way around.

At this point I suggest moving to the couch as this can take awhile. Eventually though you will get to the end.

IMG_3556

This is what you get for your hard work.

IMG_3557

At first glance it may not appear like a lot of fabric but trust me it is.

IMG_3558

I fold my bias tape in half and press but how you treat it depends on what you plan on doing with it.

I always use bias tape so I make sure to keep in mind how a pattern will look on the bias (which can be dramatically different from how it looks up and down) when choosing binding fabrics.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers