Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 15th, 2009

It’s hard not to be impressed by quilts like this that touch on every color in the spectrum but it’s daunting to think about recreating one. There are 52 different fabrics called for in this pattern (53 if you include the white) and I have collected six so far.

canonjuly09 120

I obviously have a ways to go… but I’m so excited to get started that I went ahead and cut out these spokes. It also “frees up” the remaining fabric from these prints for another project. I don’t know about you but if I want to use a fabric for a specific project I have to seperate it immediately even if I know I won’t actually make the project for weeks or months. Otherwise I know that I will accidentally grab it, use it in something else, and be severly disappointed when I realize what I’ve done. With a fabric that is currently in stores that’s not such a big deal but if the fabric is hard to find or out of print it could be devastating.

I have no idea how long it will take me to find 46 more fabrics so for now I’m going to be inspired by these examples of color spectrum quilts.



Rainbow baby quilt, originally uploaded by kicsoda.

Do you have a favorite color wheel or color spectrum project? Please post the link so we can all be inspired!

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers