Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 30th, 2009

I thought I would add a new feature to my blog since many of us buy our fabric online. From here on out I will be reviewing the online fabric shops that I purchase from. These are not sponsored posts and I’m not receiving any sort of discount or “kickback” for doing this.

The first shop that I happened to purchase from after making this decision was Fabricworm. You can purchase from her on Etsy or her own website.

Selection:

I don’t often purchase from here but when I do it’s because she has a fabric that very few other people carry but also offers enough other fabrics to make the purchase and combined shipping worthwhile. In this case it was the Alexander Henry “Home Sewing is Easy.”

The other thing I love about Fabricworm on Etsy is the yard and half yard bundles she creates (like the one above) that combine prints from various designers. One of the hardest things about buying fabric online is figuring out which prints can be combined and which will clash when they arrive on your doorstep. Since colors appear differently on different monitors its impossible to know for sure unless you see the prints placed side by side (or in person if your lucky).

It’s also worth noting that she offers a small selection of Japanese prints.

But the selection is also what frustrates me about Fabricworm. The selection is different between her Etsy and website and I often find myself wanting some fabrics from each site. To be fair I’ve never tried contacting her to see if I could purchase from each and still combine shipping.

Price by Yard:

Quilter’s Cotton- $8.00
Home Decorator Weight- $14.00
Japenese- $14.00- $24.00
Oilcloth- $17.00

These prices are average for Etsy and a little lower than most independent websites.

Shipping:

From Fabricworm Etsy
“Shipping Methods and Rates to US/Canada/Everywhere Else
Up to 2 Yards of quilt weight cotton ship via USPS First Class Mail
3 to 8 yards of quilt weight, ship via USPS Priority Mail Flat Rate Envelope-$5/$10.75/$13
9-30 yards of quilt weight cotton ship via USPS Priority Mail Flat Rate Box- $10.50/$26/$41
29-40 yards of quilt weight cotton ship via USPS Priority Mail XL Flat Rate Box-$14/$33/$53

*****Significant over charges in shipping will be refunded upon shipment, friendly reminders are always appreciated”

The prices are different on her independent site, there prices are based on weight.

I bought 7 yards of fabric so I paid $5 in shipping and got a cardboard shipping envelope stuffed with fabric. The fabric came wrapped in a plastic bag which I appreciate because you never know if a package will get wet in shipping. The fabric arrived a couple days after ordering so she must have shipped it the same day I ordered.

The cost and packaging are pretty standard for Etsy fabric shops.

Fat Quarter:

Not everyone cares about this option but I’m a quilter so I like to purchase a large variety of smaller cuts of fabric.

The smallest cut of fabric you can get from Fabricworm is 1/2 yard.

What matters most to you when deciding where to buy your fabric?

Read Full Post »